The bodies that make up the Cluster of Excellence are the Chair, the Executive Board and the General Assembly of all members. The General Assembly elects the Chair and on his proposal the whole Executive Board.

The Scientific Advisory Board gives advice to the Executive Board in terms of scientific topics. Its members are high-ranking German and international scientists from academia and industry.

The Cluster is organised into four research bands (1 to 4). Each one is divided into one chemical (D) and one biological (E) part (e.g. D1 and E2). Each D1 up to E4 are coordinated by two sub-coordinators.

In total, more than 50 working groups with 250 members guarantee the scientific success of UniCat’s 4 research bands.

The BIG-NSE Graduate School (Berlin International Graduate School of Natural Sciences and Engineering) is part of UniCat. The BIG-NSE is active  in the education of excellent young researchers.

The Chair represents and manages the Cluster. He is supported by the UniCat Office.