Monday, 21. November 2016

Reserach Highlight "Structure of photosystem II and substrate binding at room temperature"

Here we report the use of femtosecond pulses from an X-ray free electron laser (XFEL) to obtain damage-free, room temperature structures of dark-adapted (S1), two-flash illuminated (2F; S3-enriched), and ammonia-bound two-flash illuminated (2F-NH3; S3-enriched) PS II.

Sunday, 20. November 2016

UniCat graduate Mehtap Özaslan is establishing a junior research group at the University of Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Mehtap Özaslan, a former UniCat Ph.D. student in Prof. Peter Strasser’s group, and junior professor of electrocatalysis at the University of Oldenburg, has just been awarded financing from the Federal Ministry of Research to investigate catalysts for fuel cells.

Wednesday, 16. November 2016

Pseudo-contact shifts in the NMR spectrum of an entire paramagnetic catalytic metalloprotein domain

New paper of Martin Kaupp‘s UniCat research group in the journal „Angewandte Chemie“

Wednesday, 16. November 2016

Matthias Driess has been selected as the recipient of the Davison Lecture

UniCat Chair Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess has been honored by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to give the renowned Davison Lecture in Cambridge, USA. This Award recognizes individual groundbreaking contributions to Inorganic Chemistry.

Thursday, 10. November 2016

Chemical looping for raw material change

Scientists from the Cluster of Excellence “Unifying Concepts in Catalysis” of Berlin University of Technology have won the Prize for Innovation from the German Gas Industry.

Monday, 07. November 2016

Reserach Highlight "Cyclohexane oxidative dehydrogenation over copper oxide catalysts"

Here, we report on structure-reactivity trends for cyclohexane oxidative dehydrogenation (ODH) with silica supported copper oxide catalysts as a function of surface structure. Copper oxide was supported on mesostructured KIT-6 silica at low surface densities 300 nm as well as Cu+ LMCT bands at 235, 296, and 312 nm. Counterintuitively, EXAFS analysis shows that the multinuclear precursor leads to fewer average Cu–Cu interactions than syntheses with mononuclear copper salt precursors.

Friday, 28. October 2016

Massry Prize for Peter Hegemann

The winners of the 2016 Meira and Shaul G. Massry Prize are a trio of scientists — Gero Miesenboeck, Peter Hegemann, and Karl Deisseroth — whose research paved the way for a breakthrough technology called optogenetics that has revolutionized the way scientists study the brain.

Monday, 24. October 2016

Carlos A. Carrero has become Assistant Professor at Auburn University

Former BIG-NSE fellow has become Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at Auburn University in Alabama (USA).

Tuesday, 11. October 2016

Kallol Ray together with Clara Immerwahr Awardee: new hot paper in Angewandte Chemie

Prof. Dr. Kallol Ray and Clara Immerwahr Awardee Dr. Anna Company have published a paper on characterization and reactivity terminal copper–nitrene species. It has resulted from the scientific stay of Ms Teresa Corono in Kallol Ray’s group for a period of four months. Her stay was funded by the Clara Immerwahr Award to Dr. Anna Company. This paper has been selected as a hot paper in Angewandte Chemie International Edition.

Monday, 26. September 2016

Former BIG-NSE fellow becomes Associate Professor

Dr. Amandine Guiet a former BIG-NSE fellow in the group of Prof. Anna Fischer has accepted an offer as “Maitre de Conférence” at Université du Maine at Le Mans in France.