Tuesday, 09. October 2012

Gerhard Ertl Center officially opened

Opening ceremony held at the TU Berlin with Nobel Prize winner Gerhard Ertl and Berlin State Secretary for Science Knut Nevermann[more]

Thursday, 27. September 2012

UniCat founds the Gerhard Ertl Center

Opening ceremony with Nobel Laureate Gerhard Ertl on 8th October at the TU Berlin / Invitation[more]

Saturday, 08. September 2012

Peter Hegemann wins the 2012 Zülch Award

The Gertrud Reemtsma Foundation recognises the founding father of optogenetics and highlights the importance of this new research area for fundamental research in neurology. Today, researchers can provide nerve cells with genes for light-sensitive protein channels in order to carry out targeted examinations of the cells and also to control them. The Gertrud Reemtsma Foundation has chosen to honour four scientists who have made substantial contributions to furthering the still-new research area of optogenetics with the 2012 K. J. Zülch Award....[more]

Monday, 27. August 2012

Dr. habil. Detlef Schröder died unexpectedly

We are very sad to announce that Dr. habil. Detlef Schröder passed away unexpectedly on the 22nd of August 2012.[more]

Friday, 24. August 2012

Peter Hegemann: Member of the German National Academy of Sciences

The biochemist Professor Dr. Peter Hegemann, has been elected as a member of the „Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina“ appreciating his scientific achievements and personality.[more]

Friday, 06. July 2012

Ralph Krähnert becomes Einstein Junior Fellow

The Einstein Foundation Berlin supports five promising junior scientist for the next three years. UniCat Junior Research Group Leader Dr.-Ing. Ralph Krähnert is one of them.[more]

Thursday, 05. July 2012

Room temperature femtosecond X-ray diffraction of photosystem II microcrystals

New publication of Athina Zouni and coworkers in PNAS[more]

Wednesday, 27. June 2012

Matthias Driess: Member of the German National Academy of Sciences

Prof. Matthias Driess, Chair of the Cluster of Excellence UniCat

Professor Dr. Matthias Driess, Chair of UniCat, has been elected as a member of the „Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina“ appreciating his scientific achievements and personality. The Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina has been the German National Academy of Sciences since 2008. It addresses key issues of particular significance for the future of society from a scientific perspective and independently of economic or political interests, shares its findings with policymakers and the public, and puts these issues up...[more]

Friday, 15. June 2012

UniCat classed as excellent once more

The Cluster of Excellence consolidates its pole position in catalysis research[more]

Monday, 30. April 2012

Humboldt Prize awardee comes to UniCat for the second time

Peter Leadlay, Herchel Smith Professor of Biochemistry, comes to UniCat for a research stay on May 02. Last year, he had been chosen by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to receive a prestigious Humboldt Prize.  He had been nominated for the Humboldt Research Award by Professor Roderich Süssmuth at the Technische Universität Berlin. Now, Professor Leadlay will again spend three months at UniCat on collaborative research projects. On Wednesday, May 30, he will give a talk within the  UniCat colloquium...[more]